The Earlsfield, in… Earlsfield

I’ve been eating out a lot recently and I’m having a hard keeping up but I’m going to try. It means some of these reviews are going to be a little shorter than usual perhaps. Bear in mind I try to only write about places I feel are worth sharing and if I don’t rate a place I will bypass it on here unless I am sharing a review which I wrote for The London Word or have been invited to review. So on I go! In deepest darkest Southwest London right next to Earlsfield train station lies the superb contemporary gastro pub The Earlsfield. Yep inventive name for sure, but you’ll never forget where it is at least.

I hate the location! Squashed up against the station you can see from the window in the dining area through to the stairway in the station next door and the only outdoor area is on pavement out front right on the main road. It looks small and extraordinary from the outside and I would ordinarily want to venture a little further away from the station before stopping for a drink or food.

However I urge you to stop in at this place. Once inside it is much more spacious and warm than it first seems, however the food is really the reason to go. It’s delicious! I have to mention the shepherds pie which was demolished in an instant! Juicy gravy drenched meat, with grilled buttery, cheesy mash. Classic British pub food done exceptionally well. But it doesn’t stop there. They also do American extremely well. In fact this place is also one of my favourite places for ribs, sweet potato fries and wings. The buffalo wings are on my personal top rated wings in London list. Whatever my mood I know the food here will be quality!

The menu changes daily but the wings and ribs are a standard. The desserts are not exceptional here but there’s nothing wrong with them either. They are not what I go here for. It’s usually the wings and to make this place even better, it has a wing night on a Wednesday. You can get 18 wings for £12 and on Mondays it’s all you can eat wing and ribs for £22 so you can do this place on a budget too. What’s not to love?!

 

